Photo: Winners and some of the nominees in the 2018 South West HHS “Promoting excellence in the
delivery of health services” awards, with Board Chair Jim McGowan and Chief Executive Linda
Patat at back.

South West Hospital and Health Service staff celebrated their achievements and those of
individual colleagues at the health service’s annual staff awards in St George on 29 October.

The awards recognised quiet achievers and team efforts from across the region.

The “Promoting excellence in the delivery of health services” awards received more than 70
nominations from across the region for seven categories.

Five of the award categories are based on the South West HHS’s new corporate values –
Quality, Compassion, Engagement, Accountability and Adaptability – which were adopted
earlier this year.

A sixth category is the long-standing Jim and Jill Baker award, presented to the employee or
team who demonstrates excellence in their chosen filed.

But this year, in addition, a new Board Chair’s Annual Award for outstanding service to the
South West Hospital and Health Service Board was introduced.

Board Chair Jim McGowan said the awards event was a great opportunity to recognise both
individuals and teams for their enduring dedication to providing quality health care.

“It was a real privilege to witness staff faces full of pride and excitement as they accepted their
awards and I’m sure their success has inspired their colleagues,’’ he said.

“Working in rural and remote settings, our staff have a special connection with their
communities and the entire South West can be very proud of all of their achievements.

“I’d like to thank everyone who took part in the awards, including the winners, those who were
nominated and especially those who took the time to acknowledge their colleagues by
submitting nominations.

“The staff awards recognise employees from all professions and it is a real accomplishment to
be recognised by your work peers.

“The strong number of nominations is a clear indicator of the high standard of work being
performed every day in the South West.”

Award categories and winners are as follows:

• Quality – We strive for excellence and do our best to deliver person-centred care.
Winner: Reducing Severe Perineal Trauma Team, Roma.

Citation: The Roma Maternity Team is the only rural site in Australia participating in this
collaborative and this has revealed a number of unique opportunities. The team
presented at a Melbourne forum in February 2018 to demonstrate the effective process
implemented in Roma which a number of tertiary centres around Australia have now

• Compassion – We treat people with the same kindness, respect and dignity as we
would our own family.

Winner: Dr Alusine Kamara, Mitchell Multipurpose Health Service Medical

Citation: Dr Kamara is a quiet achiever, not one for accolades but a humble doctor going
about his daily work to make a difference to the patients he serves. Nothing is a problem
for Dr Kamara, he has a calming and caring approach to his patients and sets them at
ease, taking a personal interest in them, building rapport and a good working

• Engagement – We work effectively and inclusively with others.

Winner: Lana Russell, Breast Care Nurse and Kasey Lockwood, Physiotherapist

Citation: Lana Russell and Kasey Lockwood have formed a strong working partnership
between themselves, their colleagues and with their community of patients to ensure
excellence in care for patients with breast cancer.

• Accountability – We are reliable and own what we do and do what we say we will do.

Winner: Tracey Conomos, Finance Officer Charleville.

Citation: Tracey is reliable and accepts accountability for her work through the correct
management of the tasks for which she is responsible. Tracey achieves this by
consulting with other content experts in her team and the constant application of the
organisations processes, policies and procedures.

Adaptability – We learn, change and grow.

Winner: Shelley Badcock, Medical Practice Administration Officer, Mungindi.

Citation: Shelley has been at the interface of daily operations and patient engagement
as receptionist at Mungindi Doctors Surgery. Shelley has demonstrated a commitment to
continuous improvement of the Mungindi Doctors Surgery.

• Jim and Jill Baker Award – awarded to the employee or team who demonstrates
excellence in their chosen field.

Winner: Charleville Access Hub Team

Citation: The Charleville Access Hub embraced a complete change in the work practices
to better service their community and have simultaneously demonstrated their passion
and pride in their service delivery to their patients and their patients’ families.

• Board Chair’s Annual Award

Winner: Donna Burke, Board Governance Officer

Citation: Donna’s primary objective is to serve the communities of the South West in her
capacity as Board Governance Officer. Donna provides outstanding support across the
organisation, and is instrumental in the planning and facilitation of meeting the needs of
the community. Donna will often go “above and beyond” to ensure the needs of our
Community Advisory Networks are met.


For further information contact:
James Guthrie
Principal Media Officer, Rural and Remote Qld
Media and Communication
Department of Health
(07) 3708 5379